One more look at the bridge from a traditional viewpoint

brd4

and then let us slip down to where the trolls hang out.

underb2

underb1

In the fall of 1919, the state of Michigan purchased a toll bridge in Pennsylvania and shipped it to Marquette. It was installed at the Dead River site and opened to traffic in 1921, serving as an essential link for logging, tourism and development in the northern part of Marquette County. The years of heavy use took their own toll and, as weight limits for the bridge continued to be revised downward, eventually it was no longer practical to maintain it for traffic. (When snowplows weren’t allowed on the bridge due to weight restrictions, the bridge itself had to be shoveled by hand!)

I’ll show you the replacement bridge later this week.

Comments
  1. Once again, this is really a great bridge.

  2. andykidd says:

    I Love that bridge and its setting. Shame about the rust, I suppose salt and snow did not help. Not that we get snow down these here parts!

    • Andy–I just checked back on your blog. I THOUGHT I was following you, but apparently not. And that explains why I haven’t seen any of your work for a while. I am on my way over to correct that. (I saw some really nice stuff there.)
      Glad you like the bridge.

      • andykidd says:

        Thanks for that – I have slowed down with the images as I am trying to finish the PhD thesis. But I still enjoy looking and particularly like your work and commentary :-)

  3. Karen Taylor says:

    She looks good for an old girl. Love all the pictures.

  4. bobh47955 says:

    Old Iron Bridges have a lot of character.

Leave a Reply

